Author Topic: Geek lite question  (Read 28979 times)

Talix

• AKA Dollbutt
  • Global Moderator
  • Needs a chaperone
    • Tumbling the Tree
Geek lite question
« on: September 25, 2008, 08:52:50 AM »
I have a CD that I know has a root-kit on it.  Will this affect my PC if I just play the audio or is it only a problem if I rip it?
"If you need Grover to explain "under", you're not ready for Playboy."
"Maybe you should learn to use commas, first, and then toy with pregnancy as a rhetorical act."
"Magical invisible high-pressure lightning fluid in your walls?  No problem."
"I am a light to the world." - Random Axe

"These are strange and mysterious times, and we must move in strange and mysterious ways." - mrcookieface

"I grow less interesting every year." - Hmof

Dr. Leonard HmofCoy

• I'm a doctor, not a bricklayer!
  • Global Moderator
  • His BRAIN is gone
Re: Geek lite question
« Reply #1 on: September 25, 2008, 09:11:28 AM »
!

Is this the famous Sony rootkit? I forget the details of how that worked.

:hmm:

Stick it in a Mac and rip it. :evil:
"Parasitic wasps laying eggs in other insects is a better love story than Twilight." - :bitzero:
"Anyhow, it was the best sentient food movie since Killer Tomatoes Eat France." - :flipper:
"lee marvin in drag is no way to spread the gospel, son." - TFJ
"It failed. My enemies have been purged." - Sidious
"It's not like there was ever a time I didn't think Rudy Giuliani was a smug gibbering imbecile." - random axe
"*drags taint* Oh cool, I didn't know you could do that." - mo.d

Talix

• AKA Dollbutt
  • Global Moderator
  • Needs a chaperone
    • Tumbling the Tree
« Reply #2 on: September 25, 2008, 09:33:09 AM »
It is indeed.

And at the moment the question is moot, since I only brought the case in.  The CD is in the car player.   :eyeroll:
"Maybe you should learn to use commas, first, and then toy with pregnancy as a rhetorical act."