Author Topic: DSCOVR / Triana / Whatever  (Read 1232 times)

Dr. Leonard HmofCoy

• I'm a doctor, not a bricklayer!
  • Global Moderator
  • His BRAIN is gone
DSCOVR / Triana / Whatever
« on: November 06, 2015, 02:52:28 PM »
I have to say a few things about DSCOVR because it is probably the single most misunderstood mission NASA has ever run. And the history is interesting and pathetic and infuriating and nobody in the media have got it even close to right at any time. I've been aware of this thing forever because of what I do, obviously. And it's had a surprising effect on the arc of my career and the whole space/earth science field in general. Here is the real poop.

Originally this was a mission concept of some originality and import. The idea was to do a deep-space Earth radiation budget monitoring mission. The radiation budget is a basic, level-zero way to look at the climate. You look at the energy going in, you look at the energy coming out, see how it changes on various time scales, very simple equations to get the average temperature and so forth. It is a big-thinker-like-Carl-Sagan, or what's-different-between-mars-and-venus-and-earth level view of climate, but it has the advantage of being utterly based on non-ambiguous laws of physics and absolutely cannot be contradicted by playing the climate-complexity card or anything like that. And scientists have been working on measuring the earth radiation budget from orbiting satellites for decades (and I've got a stack of CDs to prove it). It's just hard, from orbit, for various technical reasons having to do with calibration and intercalibration and relative vs. absolute measurements, etc. I'm going to eschew all that for the moment.